[Skip to Content]



The AIA Aspire States has a long-standing tradition of recognizing a broad range of architecture activity that exemplifies the values of the Aspire Conference and improves the quality of the built environment in the communities we serve. The Aspire Design Awards program seeks to highlight the diverse range of projects by architects within the states. The AIA believes that awards programs should be carefully structured so that the selection and recognition of honorees elevates the general quality of architectural practice, establishes a standard of excellence against which all architects can measure performance, and informs the public of the importance of design.

The AIA Aspire States achieve this purpose by establishing and sponsoring the following awards and subcategories:

I.  Design Awards

  • New Construction & Substantial Renovation Award
  • Housing Award
  • Adaptive Reuse/Preservation Award
  • Interior Architecture Award
  • Unbuilt Project award

II.  Student Design Award

See the "Categories" tab for descriptions of the Design Awards subcategories and the Student Design Awards.



All entries, with the exception of Student Projects, shall be projects executed and designed by AIA members in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Kentucky, or project teams consisting of at least one AIA member in good standing in one of these state jurisdictions. Projects may have been executed anywhere in the United States or abroad and must have been substantially completed after January 1, 2015. The number of entries submitted by a firm or individual is not limited. Projects that have previously won an AIA South Atlantic Region or Aspire Award are not eligible. All projects, regardless of size, budget, style, building type, or location are eligible. Entries are welcomed and encouraged from both established and new practitioners at any size firm.



There will be one jury for the Aspire Design Awards which will review both professional and student works. The jury will convene in August of 2022 with the professional awards in the morning and student awards in the afternoon. A decision on when the Awards will be presented will be made soon.

This year's Jury Chair will be Susan Barnes, from Skylab Architecture in Portland Oregon. She will convene an Portland based jury to help judge the awards. 

See the "Jury" tab in the menu above for more information on the jury. 




15 June 2022 Student Entry- Registration opens at https://aiasar.secure-platform.com
15 June 2022 Professional Entry- Registration opens at https://aiasar.secure-platform.com
8 July 2022 Professional Entry- Deadline for early bird registration and discounted entry fees. 
29 July 2022 ALL Entries- Submissions must be uploaded no later than 11:59 p.m. EDT

$275 per submission until July 8  ($299 after July 8)

$35 per submission until July 29

No refunds will be issued for Design Awards or Student Design Awards registration fees. 


Please direct all inquiries to Keri Dixon, AIANC Awards Director, at kdixon@aianc.org.

View or Download FAQ

Follow Us Twitter